About Brighton and Hove Parks LTA

The Brighton & Hove Parks Lawn Tennis Association (BHPLTA) has been flying the flag for affordable and competitive community tennis since 1929.

” Our aim is a simple one: To enjoy the game of tennis in good company.”

The BHPLTA operates the Parks League, the citywide tennis competition held every summer (April-August), featuring 11 parks clubs and 40 teams, with other 600 registered players.

The BHPLTA also hosts the citywide Cup competition, for mens and ladies singles, double and mixed doubles, with a Finals Day held at the end of July.

Clubs in Division One compete for the Charles Beckett Challenge Shield (see photo), awarded to the best mixed team of four men and four women. The 2017 champions were Dyke Park, with Queens Park runners up.

Parks League matches are played on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 6pm between April and August.

The BHPLTA also runs an annual Cup Competition, and individual clubs have their own inter club competitions and social Events.

New player are always welcome. If you are interested, please contact your nearest Parks club in the city: see map here.

Photography on this website is courtesy of Conrad Brunner and Neil Stoddart. All rights reserved. Images may not be reproduced without express permission.

BHPLTA committee at the 2018 Parks Cup finals day
King Alfreds, host organisers of 2018 Parks Cup finals day


Download the Brighton & Hove Parks League logo here

Click here to follow the Parks League on Facebook.

Click here to follow the Parks League on Twitter.